Well, the board is either fixed, or it's going to run terribly. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. I'm at my technical limit right now.

Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

Message
Author
slowbob2
Member
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:02 pm
Age: 38
Location: slaton
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#16 Post by slowbob2 » Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:54 pm

I have always used the two interchangeably , they are close enough for start loads .

KneverKnew
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:26 pm
Age: 50
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#17 Post by KneverKnew » Sun Sep 02, 2018 7:55 pm

slowbob2 wrote:
Sun Sep 02, 2018 4:54 pm
I have always used the two interchangeably , they are close enough for start loads .
What I was thinking. Anks

Stew15948
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:38 am
Age: 46
Location: Jackson, MS
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#18 Post by Stew15948 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:26 pm

You’ll get better accuracy in my experience with the slower powders like the R17 and IMR4350 mentioned. ...and my experience to at least 200yds is that a plain ole 150 FMJ shoots just as good as the more expensive options when using the iron sights. Good shooting!

Image

KneverKnew
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:26 pm
Age: 50
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#19 Post by KneverKnew » Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:53 am

Wow. Is that 100 yards or two? I’m guessing five shots with first shot flyer? Do you get that all the time? Very good shooting for irons.

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#20 Post by zfk55 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:25 pm

The powder should be RE17 if you're looking to clone it. RE17 is distributed by Alliant and comes from the same MFG as the original GP11 powder in Switzerland.
Color, shape and "smell" are identical. The only thing that's changed over the years in the GP11 powder is the coagulent.
This is my Son's k31 and the loads replicate the original cartridge.
The target is at 100 yards and is completely repeatable. We consider it a "proven load". For us, that's 20 targets with 5 rounds each with the same nominal POI.

Image

Image

Image

And for the record.......... Offset mounts, including the M1D Garand are not zeroed at 100, 200 or even 500 yards. Look at this diagram. POI stays the same from 25 yards right out to 1,000 yards which the rifle is fully capable of.

Image

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#21 Post by zfk55 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:29 pm

The offset of the mount is 11/16", so leave it at exactly that POI at 100 yards and it will remain so out to 1,000 yards. No need to zero it on the bullseye. If you do, the POI will change the further out your target is.

If you can tell the difference beyond 200 yards, you're a much better shot than I am, Gunga Dihn.

KneverKnew
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:26 pm
Age: 50
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#22 Post by KneverKnew » Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:54 pm

Thank you for the info. I have an offset mount for my K31 as well as Re17. I’ve got various billets to choose from including 168 smk’s. Can you tell me what your recipe is for your duplicate load using Re17 and Bullet choice? Thanks again.

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#23 Post by zfk55 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:09 pm

I'm afraid that it wouldn't help you. Every firearm in the SP armoury has it's bore hBN slurry sealed and we only fire ICPs. The muzzle velocity changes when that's done and the load data must be changed as well, but........... I can tell you that if you're using a 175gr VLD or a 168SMK, a good starting point is 41gr of RE17.

P

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#24 Post by zfk55 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:10 pm

I forgot to mention that case prep is a huge part of our successful data. Pay close attention to neck tension when you're developing a load. That's a huge deal.
P

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#25 Post by zfk55 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:59 pm

KneverKnew wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:53 am
Wow. Is that 100 yards or two? I’m guessing five shots with first shot flyer? Do you get that all the time? Very good shooting for irons.
No answer yet?
P

KneverKnew
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:26 pm
Age: 50
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#26 Post by KneverKnew » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:19 pm

With regards to the scope offset zeroing, do you aero for poa/poi at 100? Or do you leave it at 11/16” impact to left of aim?

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#27 Post by zfk55 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:18 pm

Exactly as the diagram.

KneverKnew
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:26 pm
Age: 50
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#28 Post by KneverKnew » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:41 pm

Ok. Thanks.

zfk55
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:06 pm
Age: 78
Location: Lost Prairie Montana
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#29 Post by zfk55 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:44 pm

KK, were you aware that the Guinness world record for open sights was done by a friend of mine, Ernie Jimenez with an unmodified k31? ..... three times in a row at 1,000 ... 1,500 and 2,000 yards.
Does that tell you what the possibilities are with a scope?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqwG2caxNo8&t=221s

P

KneverKnew
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 12:26 pm
Age: 50
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
United States of America

Re: Attempting to clone GP11 in my K31

#30 Post by KneverKnew » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:49 pm

Very!! I have two K31’s. Both shoot great with gp11. Just want to get the most out of it. Great expectations!!

Post Reply

Return to “Swiss Rifles”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests