Well, the board is either fixed, or it's going to run terribly. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. I'm at my technical limit right now.

Different front sight heights?

Smokey
United States of America

Different front sight heights?

#1 Post by Smokey » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:26 pm

I'm working with someone's Garand now. Tuned it to shoot nearly minute of angle, but it shoots some six inches above point of aim. Always shot high for some reason. This with the rear sight run all the way down. I have the stock fitted so the barrel assembly gets a little downward pull at the fore-end. It made no difference. I'm not a professional gunsmith, so I'm not afraid to ask. Better to be humble and learn than mess up pretending I know something. Any suggestions from the more knowledgeable?
Arguing with someone who denounces reason is like administering medicine to a corpse.

RWS
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

Re: Different front sight heights?

#2 Post by RWS » Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:59 am

Is the rear sight hooded? I'm gonna guess it is.

It is commonly reported that hooded sights shoot high with Garands. As far as I know, no "high" front sight blades exist. The rear sight has to be lowered and that usually means going back to a non-hooded sight to get POI to coincide with POA.

Some people claim you can grind the last two teeth off a hooded sight rack and make it work but there are mixed reviews about how well that works.

-Bob

Smokey
United States of America

#3 Post by Smokey » Wed Feb 07, 2018 4:51 pm

This is a straight military configuration Garand. Standard sights, no special match sights.
I can try building up the front sight with a squared off section of metal and crazy glue, or something to hold it in place.
Don't want to try soldering it in place.
Arguing with someone who denounces reason is like administering medicine to a corpse.

M14man
United States of America

#4 Post by M14man » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:51 pm