Well, the board is either fixed, or it's going to run terribly. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. I'm at my technical limit right now.

NM MILSURPS 800 yard match thoughts

Rapidrob
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

NM MILSURPS 800 yard match thoughts

#1 Post by Rapidrob » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:15 pm

I've been holding our 800 yard match now for over 10 years. This past decade has shown some surprising results with the rifles being used.
One may think that the "known to be great shooting rifles" would always win,but this is not the case. While the quality and condition of the rifles plays a great factor in how well it will shoot a bullet at 800 yards, the maker or country who used the rifles does not really seem to matter much. While the Swiss and Swede rifles do well,so do the Turk Mausers and Mosin Nagant rifles.
Several of my club's members have also shot rifle caliber carbines and AK's and have done very well indeed. Even AR15's with a 1:12 twist and firing 55 grain bullets do well if the wind is less than 10 mph.
The key exterior ballistic factor is that the bullet,no matter what caliber or weight must remain super-sonic at 800 yards. Watching the bullet fall below super-sonic past 600 yards shows some strange behavior.( this being said about modern calibers,not muzzle loaders/black powder cartridge)
The most common is that the bullet is still spinning so fast as it travels down range the air at the slower forward speeds causes the bullet to start to spiral,as in a cork-screw motion. The .223 lighter bullets really show this. ( vapor trail and sun glinting off of the bullet body) In winter months the cold denser air causes the bullet to slow down much faster/closer to the shooter, while you may still get accurate hits in the summer months.