Well, the board is either fixed, or it's going to run terribly. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. I'm at my technical limit right now.

6.5x52 Carcano - Shell holder of choice?

TassieAzz
Australia

6.5x52 Carcano - Shell holder of choice?

#1 Post by TassieAzz » Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:59 am

Hey all.

I'm wanting to do some reloads for my M91/38 Carcano and am very confused as to the shell holder to use. I've got a Lee set of dies for it, but all the reading I've been doing advises to steer clear of the included shell holder and to instead go for the RCBS holder.

I've seen advice for the number 9 holder, although apparently number 3 will also work (hopefully it will, as it's one I already have on hand). I'm very new to reloading, hence my apprehension with regards to "internet here say" and would much prefer to get it from the most reliable source I know, SRF :D

So which shell holder do people personally use, or suggest?

Cheers

PennsylvaniaRifleman
United States of America

Re: 6.5x52 Carcano - Shell holder of choice?

#2 Post by PennsylvaniaRifleman » Sun Jul 23, 2017 1:06 pm

FWIW, I have used the Lee shellholder exclusively and haven't had a problem. I can't say if it's a factor in my success, but I also use Lee case lube when resizing- a dab between the thumb and forefinger spun along the length of the case neck and body (skipping the shoulder), with the excess then scraped along the inside edge of the case mouth. I also use PRVI brass, finding the Norma thicker at the neck and rim (I avoid the Norma because of feeding issues, but in hindsight the thickness may exacerbate reloading/shellholder issues). That said, I know many experienced reloaders steer clear of the Lee shellholder so this is just what has worked for me so far (did I just jinx myself?).

Rapidrob
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
United States of America

#3 Post by Rapidrob » Sun Jul 23, 2017 8:13 pm