Well, the board is either fixed, or it's going to run terribly. Cross your fingers and hope for the best. I'm at my technical limit right now.

BOUGHT IT! new to me No1 MkIII no* with PH-5A, ??

Tommy Atkins
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Canada

BOUGHT IT! new to me No1 MkIII no* with PH-5A, ??

#1 Post by Tommy Atkins » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:27 pm

OK, guys & girls, help me out here I'm not really a SMLE expert but I just may have found something so I'd like your opinions on it, its value & a few questions.

I have a chance to get this rifle, sorry for the image quality it was very limited opportunity & I had to do this on the fly.
What I think I know”:

Its a 1914 BSA made No1 MkIII*.
BUT its marked as a No1 MkIII no star, but it has the sights without windage, no magazine cut off, nor is there a slot for one.
Serial No is a 4 digit 924X Numbers match on bolt handle, barrel, receiver ring, nose cap, rear sight, & magazine. There is also another number on the magazine which has been over-struck but might have been50699?

It was FTR'd somewhere in '44 (I think because that's the barrel date).
The sight has the S/A “arrow in a “U” property mark, but nothing else does.
The bolt head is stamped with just a “U”

Markings from back to front.

Rear left of receiver by bolt raceway:
99 (or88) poorly struck
AR

Right side:
KS
(or0, or C)

Receiver ring right side:
crown
G.R.
BSA Co
ShtLE
III
(there may be a very faint “dot” or period very low down, Maybe a sloppily mis-struck “*”?
FTR
Right side receiver raceway up high adjacent to bolt release cut:
NO1MK III K
Directly below that
CAI St Alb Vt

front receiver ring:
F
924X
(serial number)

->WD arrow.

Other stuff:
the front sling swivel band is the split/hinged type.

The peep sight is a PH 5a, but is oddly mounted.
It looks like they just used the standard rear trigger guard screws first 2 or 3 turns.